Institute for Problems in Mechanics of the Russian Academy of Sciences (IPMech RAS)Institute for Problems in Mechanics of the Russian Academy of Sciences (IPMech RAS)
Laboratory for Interaction of Plasma and Radiation with MaterialsLaboratory for Interaction of Plasma and Radiation with Materials

Russian Русский English English Laboratory | Staff | Publications | Photo | GwLibrary  

Laboratory

Scientific directions

1) Development, diagnostics and applications of low-temperature plasmas for simulation of re-entry heating;
2) Experimental study of heat transfer in sub- and supersonic plasma flows;
3) Plasmodynamics of powerful inductive RF-discharges;
4) CFD modeling inductive plasma flows and heat transfer;
5) Thermochemical testing thermal protection materials in high-enthalpy gas flows;
6) Self-organization phenomena in a low-current Townsend discharge in a thin planar gas gap with a semiconductor cathode;
7) Theoretical study of streamers and leaders in laboratory, usual lightning and the upper atmosphere ("blue jets", "red sprites");
8) Study of contraction (the formation of current filaments) in glow discharge.

History

History of the Laboratory for plasma and radiation/surface interaction, created together with the Institute, is indissolubly connected with development of the experimental base for solving the issues of aerodynamic heating re-entry hypersonic vehicles. In order to meet these issues the four inductive RF-plasmatrons had been constructed: IPG-1 (1963 - 1977), IPG-2 (1977 - 1989), IPG-3 (1984 - :) and IPG-4 (1989 - :). M.I. Yakushin, who had been managering the Laboratory since the first day until November 2001 put the two fundamental principles. The first one: to have the two facilities - R&D facility for investigations of plasma/material interactions physics and another one, more powerful engineering facility for testing elements of the thermal protection. That principle was realized in facilities IPG-4 and IPG-3. The second principle: joint work of the experimenters and theorists in order to accurately extrapolate the results of material testing to the hypersonic flight conditions.

In the laboratory have been studied and tested practically all the thermal protection materials developed at NPO "Energy" and "Molnia" for different space vehicles. The laboratory was engaged in the State program "Buran". At the first time the catalytic properties of the thermal protection materials with respect to atomic recombination were determined. Multicyclic (up to 100) testing thermal protection tiles of the "Buran" vehicle at the conditions, which simulate aerodynamic heating and material oxidation, were carried out.

In the frameworks of international ISTC and INTAS projects the theory and technical approach for simulation of thermochemical plasma/surface interaction for entrees of space vehicles in the Earth and Mars atmosphere were developed. At the last time in collaboration with ONERA (France) and VKI (Belgium) in the IPG-4 plasmatron catalytic properties and oxidation process of SiC material for trajectory parameters of European experimental space vehicles Pre-X and EXPERT were studied.

Up to now exploitation of RF-plasmatrons has confirmed correctness of technical and engineering solutions undertaken. At the present time the team and both facilities are claimed by Russian aerospace industry.

Achievements

Yu.P. Raizer: The Laureate of Lenin Prize, 1966. Penning Award winner, 1993 (it was the prize of The International Scientific Committee on Ionized Gas Physics; one scientist was honored with this prize once for two year, at ICPIG Conference). The Laureate of State Prize of Russian Federation, 1999. Award of American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) on Plasmadynamics and Lasers, 2002. Honoured Science Worker of the Russian Federation.

V.V. Ragulsky: The Laureate of USSR State Prize, 1983 Corresponding academician of Russian Academy of Sciences Member of the RAS commissions on Prizes and Awards named after the prominent Russian scientists Member of the board of adjudicators of the National Children Prize.

A.F. Kolesnikov: The Laureate of USSR State Prize, 1988

Yu.K. Rulev: The medal for Valorous Labour.


101 Vernadsky Avenue, Bldg 1, Room 406, 119526 Moscow, Russia http://plasmalab.ipmnet.ru plasmalab@ipmnet.ru (+7 495) 434-3674
Site content and design: Anatoly F. Kolesnikov, Sergey A. Vasilevsky, Alexander L. Levitin, Andrei N. Gordeev
Web hosting is provided by the Ishlinsky Institute for Problems in Mechanics of the Russian Academy of Sciences

Учреждение Российской академии наук Институт проблем механики им. А.Ю. Ишлинского РАН (ИПМех РАН)Учреждение Российской академии наук Институт проблем механики им. А.Ю. Ишлинского РАН (ИПМех РАН)
Лаборатория взаимодействия плазмы и излучения с материаламиЛаборатория взаимодействия плазмы и излучения с материалами

Русский Русский  English English  Лаборатория | Сотрудники | Публикации | Фотографии | GwLibrary  

Лаборатория

Научные направления лаборатории

1) Получение, диагностика и применение низкотемпературной плазмы для моделирования аэродинамического нагрева;
2) Экспериментальное исследование теплообмена в до- и сверхзвуковых потоках плазмы;
3) Плазмодинамика мощных индукционных ВЧ-разрядов;
4) Численное моделирование течений индукционной плазмы и теплообмена;
5) Термохимические испытания теплозащитных материалов в высокоэнтальпийных газовых потоках;
6) Явления самоорганизации в слаботочном таунсендовском разряде в тонком плоском газовом промежутке с полупроводниковым катодом;
7) Стримерно-лидерные процессы в лабораторных условиях, в молнии и в верхней атмосфере (так называемые "blue jets" и "red sprites");
8) Эффекты контракции (стягивания тока в шнуры) в тлеющем разряде.

История лаборатории

История лаборатории, образованной одновременно с Институтом, неразрывно связана с развитием экспериментальной базы для решения проблем аэродинамического нагрева спускаемых и летательных аппаратов при движении в атмосферах планет с гиперзвуковыми скоростями. Для этих целей в ИПМех РАН были созданы четыре индукционных плазмотрона ВГУ-1 (1963 - 1977), ВГУ-2 (1977 - 1989), ВГУ-3 (1984 - :) и ВГУ-4 (1989 - :). М.И.Якушин, возглавлявший лабораторию со дня ее образования до ноября 2001 г., заложил два основополагающих принципа лаборатории. Первый: иметь две установки - одну, научно-исследовательскую, для изучения физики процессов взаимодействия плазмы с материалами и вторую, более мощную, для испытаний и отработки элементов тепловой защиты. Этот принцип реализован в установках ВГУ-4 и ВГУ-3. Второй принцип: совместная работа экспериментаторов и теоретиков для того, чтобы не только испытывать материалы и изучать их свойства, но и корректно переносить экспериментальные результаты, полученные на плазмотронах, на натурные условия гиперзвукового полета.

В лаборатории изучались и испытывались практически все теплозащитные материалы, разработанные в НПО "Энергия" и "Молния" для космических аппаратов различного назначения. Лаборатория участвовала в выполнении Государственной программы "Буран". Впервые были исследованы каталитические свойства теплозащитных материалов многоразового применения по отношению к гетерогенной рекомбинации атомов. Проведены многоцикловые (до 100) испытания теплозащитных плиток воздушно-космического корабля "Буран" на термохимическую стойкость в условиях, моделирующих натурный нагрев и окисление покрытия.

В рамках международных проектов МНТЦ и ИНТАС разработаны теория и техника моделирования термохимичекого взаимодействия плазмы с поверхностью для условий входа спускаемых аппаратов в атмосферы Земли и Марса. Выполнены испытания и изучены каталитические свойства теплозащитных покрытий для аппарата "MARS PROBE", разрабатываемого Европейским Космическим Агенством. В последнее время в кооперации с научными центрами Франции (ONERA) и Бельгии (VKI) на установке ВГУ-4 экспериментально изучены каталитические свойства и процессы окисления материала SiC для траекторных параметров европейских экспериментальных космических аппаратов PRE-X и EXPERT.

Практика эксплуатации ВЧ-плазмотронов в современных условиях подтвердила правильность выбранных технических и инженерных решений. В настоящее время установки и коллектив лаборатории вновь востребованы российской аэрокосмической промышленностью.

Достижения

Ю.П. Райзер - Лауреат Ленинской премии (1966 г.), Лауреат Государственной премии Российской Федерации (1999 г.), Заслуженный деятель науки РФ. Удостоен Международной премии Пеннинга по физике ионизованных газов (1993 г.), премии Американского Общества Аэронавтики и Астронавтики по плазмодинамике и лазерам (2002 г.) за выдающийся вклад в физику ударных волн и взрывов, газовых разрядов, взаимодействия лазерного излучения с плазмой.

В.В. Рагульский - Лауреат Государственной премии СССР (1983), член-корреспондент РАН (2000), член комиссий РАН по премиям имени выдающихся ученых, член жюри Национальной детской премии.

А.Ф. Колесников - Лауреат Государственной премии СССР (1988).

Ю.К. Рулев награжден медалью "За трудовую доблесть".


119526 Москва, пр-т Вернадского, д. 101, корп. 1, комн. 406 http://plasmalab.ipmnet.ru plasmalab@ipmnet.ru (495) 434-36-74
Разработка и наполнение сайта: А.Ф. Колесников, С.А. Васильевский, А.Л. Левитин, А.Н. Гордеев
Хостинг предоставлен Институтом проблем механики им. А.Ю. Ишлинского РАН